July Novel Thoughts Book Club

Please join us in July at the Golden Hotel! Let’s take book club on a summer vacation to this Catskills resort with the Goldman and Weingold families.

Save the Date: Wednesday, July 27 at 730pm EST

We’ve heard it is perfect for folks with nostalgia for the movie Dirty Dancing (or the late 60’s) and fans of Schitt’s Creek and readers who enjoy feel-good family dramedies. “Business and pleasure clash in this fast-paced, hilarious, nostalgia-filled story, where the hotel owners rediscover the magic of a bygone era of nonstop fun even as they grapple with what may be their last resort.” Hop on zoom at 730p for the book club chat, and/or join at 8p when we host the witty Elyssa Friedland in conversation. It will be an entertaining night!

March Novel Thoughts Book Club

📣Novel Thoughts Book Club📣

I am positively elated to share our March pick with you! This one is extra special, guys.

We are celebrating
💚Middle grade March &
💚Women’s History month
by hosting our long time #novelthoughtsbookclub friend and author @laura_at_the_library in conversation. Her debut novel Crossing the Pressure Line, is out in the world today!

💚Save the Date💚
Sunday, April 3
Book club chat at 730p est
Laura joins us at 8p est

If you parent, teach, babysit, mentor, coach or lead kids in this age range (9-12) get them a copy too and invite them to meet the author! All are welcome!

Please join @alanna_dreamingwithopeneyes and I in congratulating Laura Anne Bird on her book baby, now available wherever you buy books. You can also borrow Crossing the Pressure Line from your town or school libraries. (DYK that if they don’t already have it on order or in circulation you can place an order request?)

You’ll fall in love with Clare and her little blind dog Roger as they spend a transformational summer in the Northwoods of Wisconsin.

February Novel Thoughts Book Club

Presenting our February title—
Hell of a Book by Jason Mott

Save the date for our zoom chat on Monday, February 28th at 730pm EST!

“One pure, throbbing, screaming, convulsing, hell of a goddamn book!” It’s all that. Brilliant, truly.

Winner of the National Book Award, longlisted for @aspenwords and a @readwithjenna selection, this book is worthy of all the accolades and attention. We hope you’ll read with us! Updates and zoom link will be added to our BookClubs page (dm to join.)

Happy reading!

January Novel Thoughts Book Club

☀️ Novel Thoughts Book Club☀️

Our January Title is The People We Keep by Allison Larkin!

@alanna_dreamingwithopeneyes and I are ready to welcome a new year of fantastic reading with you.

☀️Save the Date!☀️
You’re invited to join us on Sunday, January 23 at 730p est for our book club chat and stay for the author talk with @allielarkinwrites at 8p.

I read it in an entire weekend, couldn’t put it down and was invested in April’s story and safety. Alanna loved it so much it made her Best of ’21 list. I hope you’ll get a copy and join us to discuss and meet the author. Many of our members have been with us since March 2020. We always welcome new readers to #novelthoughtsbookclub Even if you’ve never joined us before or maybe you did once and haven’t returned, please be reassured, you can read with us!

Happy reading!

November Novel Thoughts Book Club

📣Novel Thoughts Book Club📣
Presenting our November selection, The Heart Principle by @hhoangwrites Have you read The Kiss Quotient or The Bride Test? Interested in adding a romance to your tbr? Are you excited to meet bestselling AAPI author Helen Hoang? We sure are jazzed up for this event!

Consider yourself invited to our book party on November 21st at 730pm est! We begin with a book club discussion, then at 8pm we welcome author Helen into the conversation. This chat will not be recorded so you won’t want to miss it!

This is a first for us — the romance genre is making its debut with our book club after 20 months of titles and zooms. Don’t be shy! It’s also special night because it will be just the third virtual event in which Helen has participated for Heart Principle (the launch was with authors Christina Lauren and the second one is with Roxanne Gay via her Literati box.) So we are feeling fantastic that she also accepted our invitation!

@alanna_dreamingwithopeneyes and I hope you’ll save the date, secure your copy of The Heart Principle, and meet us on zoom next month. 💋 Comment to make sure we send you the link!

October Book Club

📣Novel Thoughts Book Club📣

Presenting our October title—
We Ride Upon Sticks by Quan Barry.

Save the date for our zoom chat on Sunday, October 17th at 730pm EST!

Nostalgic for the 80s? Curious about Salem witchcraft? Fond of field hockey? Read on, witches!

🏑In the town of Danvers, Massachusetts, home of the original 1692 witch trials, the 1989 Danvers Falcons will do anything to make it to the state finals—even if it means tapping into some devilishly dark powers. Against a background of irresistible 1980s iconography, Quan Barry expertly weaves together the individual and collective progress of this enchanted team as they storm their way through an unforgettable season.

🏑Helmed by good-girl captain Abby Putnam (a descendant of the infamous Salem accuser Ann Putnam) and her co-captain Jen Fiorenza (whose bleached blond “Claw” sees and knows all), the Falcons prove to be wily, original, and bold, flaunting society’s stale notions of femininity. Through the crucible of team sport and, more importantly, friendship, this comic tour de female force chronicles Barry’s glorious cast of characters as they charge past every obstacle on the path to finding their glorious true selves.

🏑 Want to read with us? Comment to make sure we get you the zoom link. @alanna_dreamingwithopeneyes and I can’t wait!

#werideuponsticks#novelthoughtsbookclub

September book club

📣Novel Thoughts Book Club📣

Presenting our September title, Better Luck Next Time by @juliaclaibornej

You are invited to join our book party on September 19th at 730pm est! We start celebrating
with a book club discussion, then at 8pm we welcome author Julia into the conversation.

I loved this book! Set in Reno, NV in the 1930s on a Dude ranch for women seeking divorce, BLNT is told in a unique interview format through the lens of a charming ranch hand now in his eighties; it is heartfelt, sexy and entertaining. I read it on the beach two weeks ago and I’m still smiling about it. It’s about marriage and divorce (and everything that comes in between,) friendships and flirtation, parenting, and found family. Follow your heart and read this one with us! Oh and I must mention that there’s an alternate ending (only in the B&N hardcover editions!)

@alanna_dreamingwithopeneyes and I hope you’ll save the date, secure your copy of Better Luck Next Time, and meet us on zoom next month.

August Book Club

Join us for some killer August fun! 🔪 #novelthoughtsbookclub

Our August book club pick is Finlay Donovan is Killing It by @ellecosimano and you’re invited to join us. There’s a #bookface contest too!

We meet on 8/24 at 730pm EST via zoom.

How to participate:
1️⃣Get the book
2️⃣ Start reading
3️⃣ Laugh while you get dolled up to look like Finlay and take a book selfie
4️⃣ Post your pic using our hashtag #NovelThoughtsBookClub (tag us too so we see it!)
5️⃣ Join our zoom chat on the 24th for a killer discussion and winner announcement

Sound fun? Want to read with us? Comment here so we make sure you get the zoom link! @alanna_dreamingwithopeneyes and I hope to see you and can’t wait for your selfies! (Check out her recent video post.)

Happy reading!

Novel Thoughts July Book Club

Announcing our July title and author talk–The Final Revival of Opal & Nev by Dawnie Walton.

Save the date for our brief zoom book club chat on July 28th at 730pm EST! Dawnie will join us in conversation at 8pm.

An electrifying novel about the meteoric rise of an iconic interracial rock duo in the 1970s, their sensational breakup, and the dark secrets unearthed when they try to reunite decades later for one last tour.

I just love this NYT book review because it expresses exactly how I felt after reading Opal’s story.

“This novel is so good, I want to rent a velvet-swagged amphitheater and gather a large audience to blare through a microphone just how much I like it…Befitting her name, Opal is a complex, shade-shifting idol, not so much sparkling as iridescent…[Dawnie Walton] has conjured an entire oeuvre of lyrics, licks and liner notes that is backdrop for some of the most pressing political issues of our era, or any era. The story Sunny “tells” using the tools of journalism is propulsive, often funny and thought-provoking. Like the best fiction, it feels truer and more mesmerizing than some true stories. It’s a packed time capsule that doubles as a stick of dynamite.”—NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

Novel Thoughts Book Club June Pick

📣Novel Thoughts Book Club📣

Presenting our June selection—
The Firekeeper’s Daughter by @angelineboulley

Save the date for our zoom chat on June 30 at 730pm EST!

The Firekeeper’s Daughter

🔥🦋This is our first YA pick and the first Indigenous author we’ve read together. @alanna_dreamingwithopeneyes and I cannot be more excited to discuss it with you! I’m listening to the audiobook because I’ve seen rave reviews about the narration and pronunciation of the Ojibwe Native American language. Let’s be honest with a cover this stunning I’ll inevitably need a copy in hand too.

🔥🦋With four starred reviews, Angeline Boulley’s debut novel, Firekeeper’s Daughter, is a groundbreaking YA thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, perfect for readers of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. Best for grade 9 and up, so invite a teen to read it and join us too!

🔥🦋Along with the incredible bookstagrammer and literary critics reviews, The Firekeeper’s Daughter is soon to be adapted by Netflix with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama’s production company, Higher Ground.

Read with us! Comment below to ensure I send you the zoom link. 🔥🦋